Solas Prize Winners

Michel Le Belhomme

Tonight, at the Gallery of Photography Solas Awards Exhibition, the winners of this year's prize were announced. The are: First Prize, Michel Le Belhomme; Second Prize, Dara McGrath and Third Prize, Mervyn Arthur. They will receive cash awards of respectively $10,000, $1,000 and $500.

Dara McGrath, RAF-Yatesbury-2015

Also announced are the winners of the Solas Ireland award: Ciarán Óg Arnold, Enda Bowe, Eamonn Doyle, Emer Gillespie, Shane Lynam, Dara McGrath and Yvette Monahan. The Prize is a partnership between Source and the Gallery of Photography and work from all the winners are on show in the Gallery until 10 January. The Solas Prize is also partnering with Fotohof and the Irish winners’ work will be exhibited in Salzburg in April 2016.

Mervyn Arthur, Slipshod(05)a

The standard of submissions to the prize was high and we would like to thank all the photographers who took time to make a submission. We would also like to thank the international judges who worked with us on the prize: Natasha Egan of the Museum of Contemporary Photography, Frits Gierstberg of the Nederlands Fotomuseum, Herman Seidl from Fotohof and Tanya Kiang of the Gallery of Photography.

Portfolios by the three winning photographers are published in the new issue of Source which is available now. We hope you enjoy the issue and that you will be able to see the Solas exhibition in Dublin.

This entry was posted in Exhibitions, Galleries, Prizes, Publishing, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.