Solas Prize

Takashi Arai 2

We are pleased to announce the Solas prize. This is an international award for contemporary photography and includes prizes of $11,500. This is a new collaboration between Source and the Gallery of Photography Ireland.

The Prize will be judged by a panel of five curators / editors from leading photography institutions in Chicago, Salzburg, Rotterdam, Dublin and Belfast. The deadline for submissions is 19 July. The winner will be announced at the beginning of December.

The prizes consist of an individual first prize of $10,000, a second prize of $1,000 and a third prize of $500. The work selected for prizes will be exhibited in The Solas Awards Exhibition at the Gallery of Photography in Dublin and published and distributed worldwide in Source magazine with a commissioned essay. Additionally, 22 artists will be selected for an online exhibition and everyone submitting work will receive a free one-year digital subscription to Source.

Furthermore, work by Irish photographers, or work that was substantially made in Ireland is eligible for the Solas Ireland Awards. Three winners’ work will be included in The Solas Awards Exhibition and will each receive a 3-month artist’s residency at Gallery of Photography Ireland. Their work will be exhibited in a curated three-person show at Fotohof, Salzburg in 2016 for which they will receive a production and travel bursary.

The Judges are: Natasha Egan, the executive director of the Museum of Contemporary Photography at Columbia College Chicago (MoCP); Frits Gierstberg, the chief exhibitions curator at Nederlands Fotomuseum; Herman Seidl, a photographer and curator at Fotohof in Austria; Tanya Kiang, a curator and director of the Gallery of Photography in Dublin; and John Duncan, an artist and editor of Source magazine.


The objective of the award is to discover new work. Submissions are welcome from anywhere in the world and can include up to 12 images. The Solas Prize brings together two formerly separate photography awards: the Source-Cord prize and the Gallery of Photography Artist's Award. Previous Source-Cord judges have included Charlotte Cotton, Diana Edkins, Kate Bush, Stephanie Grebe and Mariko Takeuchi. The first Cord Prize was won by Eva Stenram for her work 'Drape'. In 2014 Takashi Arai won the award with his project 'Exposed in a Hundred Suns'. The Gallery of Photography Artist's Award was established in 2002. Previous winners include John Gerrard, Mark Curran, Noel Bowler, Suzanne Mooney, Eoin O Conaill, Stephen Ahern, and Patrick Hogan. The 2013 Award ran in collaboration with the Copper House Gallery and was won by Richard Gilligan.

To find out more visit the Solas Prize website.

This entry was posted in Opportunities, Prizes, Uncategorized, Videos and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.